A Project Genesis website

JewishAnswers.org

Ask the Rabbi: answers from Project Genesis rabbis

Legumes

Question

I have tried to discover why Ashkenazic Jews, such as myself, do not eat legumes and rice on Passover. I know that Sephardic Jews are allowed to eat them during the holiday. The best explanation I have been able to find is that those foods may be mistaken for other grains. Any better explanation why these foods are prohibited?

Answer

This article from the Ohr Somayach Yeshiva in Jerusalem should clarify the issue.

All the Best,
Rabbi Mordechai Dixler