A Project Genesis website

JewishAnswers.org

Ask the Rabbi: answers from Project Genesis rabbis

Yeast in Wine

Question

I’m am very interested in the Passover celebration. However, I’m confused with the “Wine”. How did the Jewish forefathers remove yeast from the wine so that it would be kosher for the passover? Or, did they not drink wine during the passover?

Answer

Regarding your question, yeast itself is kosher for Passover. There are only five species of grain which undergo a fermentation process that makes them non-kosher for Passover: Wheat, barley, rye, oat and spelt. In other words, its not fermentation or leavening in general that makes something unkosher for Passover, rather, it is specifically the leavening of these five species of grain. Since wine doesn’t contain any grain, it is kosher for Passover.

I hope this answers your question,

Sincerely,
Ari Lobel